Super divine, homemade hot chocolate

I’ve been looking for a good hot chocolate recipe lately, and was so unimpressed by what I saw. If I use cocoa, I need to add a ton of sugar. I wanted some REAL hot chocolate. So of course I had to use REAL chocolate. I fiddled with it a little, and here’s what I came up with.

What You’ll Need:
8 oz. hot milk (I used whole milk, it was SO rich and creamy)
1/4 cup of chopped chocolate or chocolate chips (a mix of semi sweet and milk chocolate is the best!)
Peppermint mocha creamer (Coffeemate brand)
OR
A shot of peppermint Schnapps
Whipped cream
Candy Cane
Peeps Christmas marshmallows!

Microwave your milk for 1 1/2 to 2 minutes, or until it’s nice and hot. Chop your chocolate into small pieces (smaller than chocolate chips if you can, but it’ll melt eventually if they’re bigger too). Stir your chocolate into your hot milk until it’s melted and combined. Add a dash (about 1 Tbsp) of peppermint creamer. Top with whipped cream, marshmallow, and candy cane. Enjoy!

Tonight we’re headed to a candle light walk in town. Candles, Christmas music, lights, gingerbread houses, horse drawn carriage rides, so much fun! I’m taking along some hot chocolate in a thermos, and some Little Debbie cakes! The perfect way to kick off the Christmas season. Happy Holidays!

16 thoughts on “Super divine, homemade hot chocolate

  1. This looks so yummy, I am not sure I can get peppermint flavoured creamer in Australia, but I might put in a dash of peppermint essence instead.Not really hot chocolate season either but we have been getting plenty of rain!

Leave a Reply

