Homemade (Edible) finger paints

IMG_0552FWM

When I originally found this recipe, I thought it sounded interesting to try, but figured it wasn’t a big deal if it was edible. I kind of thought my 2 year old and 4 year old were a little old for eating paint. Weeeellllll, the very first thing Charlie did with the finger paints was taste test. I guess I was wrong!

The recipe came from this blog.

What You’ll Need:
1/2 cup Cornstarch
2 cups cool water
1/2 tsp salt
3 tbsp sugar

IMG_0566FWM

Mix all of your ingredients and heat them on medium heat on the stove. Stir often (and constantly once it starts to get hot) until the mixture thickens. Once it’s thickened, remove from heat. You can put it in an ice water bath (I just filled my sink with a few inches of cold water and placed the pot in there to cool). Once it’s cooled, divide into separate dishes (baby food jars work great for this!) and add food color. Mix thoroughly.

I made a 1.5 batch of this, and it was enough for 8 of the 4 ounce jars filled about 3/4 of the way full.

IMG_0567FWM

