Rainbow party!


You might remember last year when I made the Rainbow Cake for Emma’s birthday. This year I went all out and threw a rainbow party. She had a blast! I got another shot at the rainbow cake, and this time I made a 7 layer 6 inch cake. It turned out awesome! I can definitely see the rainbow cake becoming a birthday tradition for her. For detailed instructions on how to make the epic rainbow cake, check out my Ruffle Top Rainbow Cake.

My beautiful girl getting ready to dig into her cake!

With the help of my handy dandy Silhouette Cameo, I made this cute rainbow banner.

For the kids, we made this water pad to jump on.

You can find instructions HERE. Be warned, even with LOTS of tape, there’s a good chance it will spring a leak! We double taped ours and the water still managed to get under the tape and cause a leak. We also had some pointy little toes poke a few holes through the plastic which caused a smaller leak. All in all it lasted us a little less than an hour, and we had lots of kids, little and big, jumping on it. It was money well spent! **note: we used 3.5 mil plastic sheets (a 10×25 foot sheet folded in half, the kind you buy for laying down before painting), and we used super heavy duty duct tape. We taped it around the edges once, and then turned it inside out and taped it again. It takes a long time to fill, so we pulled up a corner and duct taped it to a chair with the hose hanging in it, that way the water didn’t leak out while it filled.

The balloon banner was pretty simple to make. I blew up an equal number of each balloon, using all the colors of the rainbow (I think I used 6 of each color, they were smaller balloons but it would work great with large balloons!). Once you’ve got all your balloons blown up, take a large needle (I used an embroidery needle) and some yarn and heavy duty thread, and thread through the ends of each balloon. It went pretty quickly, and took about 25 minutes to make. I think next time I want to use larger balloons and more balloons and make a giant arch around a doorway.

Another activity we did was a kiddie pool full of bubble solution and various contraptions for blowing bubbles. This unfortunately backfired, and we ended up with kids trying to climb in to go swimming, and suds EVERYWHERE! I think if the kids were a little older, it may have worked out better. But at least they had lots of fun with the suds!

Such a nice big sister, making sure Charlie had plenty of bubbles on his head.

My little country boy. πŸ™‚

Matching rainbow toesies (don’t mind the permanent flip flop tan lines)

All pooped out at the end of the day.

If you like this rainbow cake, you should check out the mini rainbow cake I made for Charlie’s first birthday HERE. Who would have thought you could use old bean cans as a cake pan?

8 thoughts on “Rainbow party!

  1. Pingback: 28 Summer Recipes to Make!

  2. I was thinking about doing a rainbow theme for my daughters first bday. The baby cake is so cute. Thanks for sharing. New follower from hop. Love for you to follow back when you get a chance.

  3. What a fun party! I am in love with all the color…I don’t know how your little ones reacted, but the last time I made a cake with so many layers they thought it was the best thing ever!

    Thanks for participating in Show and Tell on SNAP! xoxo, Tauni

  4. This is wonderful! What a beautiful cake! I’m doing “Rainbow Week” with my kids this week. Come by and check out all the fun we’re having. I’ll be doing a “rainbow week recap” in the next couple of days. πŸ™‚
    sunnysweetlife.blogspot.com
    Have a great weekend πŸ™‚
    Angela

  5. Pingback: Sundae Scoop Top 20 - I Heart Nap Time

  6. Love love love your rainbow toes! you have very pretty feet if you don’t mind me saying. super cute toes πŸ˜‰

Leave a comment